DKR Award Show

Each year, the Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association not only recognizes four songwriters as inductees, but also honors those who have provided recognition and support to songwriters by presenting them with our Darrell K Royal Texas Music Legend Award. Coach Royal, the original recipient, spent years supporting and honoring songwriters, and we’re proud to carry the spirit of his efforts forward, in his name.

Darrell K Royal, revered across Texas and the country as a football coach, led the University of Texas to eleven conference championships and three national championships. He was not only respected for his accomplishments on the field, but also in life—a life of integrity with over half a century of service to the University and to Texas. Coach was also known for his deep love, respect and appreciation for songwriters, especially Texas songwriters.

2017 Inductee

View All Inductees

Tamara Saviano



Learn More

DKR Award Show


April 7, 2017 - 7:30pm

The Paramount Theatre

Performances by

Rodney Crowell, Joe Ely, Bruce Robison, Lee Roy Parnell, Jack Ingram, Verlon Thompson, Terry Allen,
Terry McBride, Brennen Leigh, Shawn Camp, The Trishas, Noel McKay
Buy Tickets

Spread the word

Think you know someone as interested in Texas Music as you are? Why not let them know too?
Make a night of it!

Download Invite Share on Facebook Share on Twitter